Get Maximum Compensation For Your DUI Accident Injury.
DON’T WAIT. GET HELP WITH YOUR CASE NOW.
Ed Booth: DUI Accident Attorney
Drunk Driving Accident Attorney Ed Booth successfully fought and won a Virginian drunk driving case, receiving $2.5 million in compensatory damages and $1 million in punitive damages for his client. That case was the fifth largest verdict in Virginia’s history. “Our client wanted a trial, she didn’t want to settle and she didn’t want to negotiate. She simply wanted her day in court, to have a jury of her peers decide the case.” The jury deliberated for one hour before returning with the 5th largest Virginia verdict in 2015. In addition, Attorney Ed Booth won a $442,000 case for a motorcyclist hit by a drunk driver. Since then he has fought and won many other cases for his clients. Ed Booth has spent many hours working to enforce the full punitive damage awards that Virginia damage limits allow. If you or a loved one is a victim of a drunk driving accident, please call the Booth Law Firm at (757) 304-8424 for a free consultation with an award winning Virginia drunk driving accident lawyer.
Virginia DUI Information
According to article 18.2-266 a Virginian non-commercial driver is considered to be legally drunk when said driver is 21 years or older and has a blood alcohol level of .08 or higher. Virginia drivers of commercial vehicles are legally drunk when their blood alcohol levels are .04 or higher. A first time offender faces up to 12 months in jail and a minimum fine of $250 to $2,500. If however, the offender’s blood alcohol level was .15 and not higher than .20, there is an additional mandatory minimum jail term of five days. If the offender’s blood alcohol level scored higher than .20, the additional minimum jail term is ten days. If a Virginia driver commits a second driving under the influence within five years of first offense faces a minimum of one (1) to twelve (12) month term in prison and a minimum fine of $250 to $2500. If the second term offense occurred within ten years of the first offense and the offender’s blood alcohol level was determined to be .15 to .20, there is an additional mandatory minimum jail term of twenty (20) days to a year. If the offender’s blood alcohol levels are greater than .20, the additional mandatory minimum jail term is thirty (30) days to a year with a mandatory minimum fine of $500 to as high as $2500. In addition, those who have committed a second driving under the influence could lose their license for a minimum of three (3) years.
Virginia Drunk Driving DUI Accident Statistics
- Each day approximately twenty eight (28) people in America die in drunk driving crashes according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
- One (1) person dies from a drunk driving incident every 51 minutes.
- One third of all vehicle accident fatalities in the United States involve a driver under the influence of alcohol and or drugs.
- The yearly cost of alcohol related car crashes is more than $44 billion, according to the Center of Disease Control and Prevention.
- According to data from the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles, there were 967 deaths which occurred on Virginia’s roadways in 2021, an increase of approximately 15% from the previous year.
- In addition to these fatalities, 2021 showed that 161 people were injured every day in the Commonwealth from traffic crashes.
- The Center for Disease Control and Prevention found that motor vehicle crashes were the leading cause of death for people aged five to nineteen years of age.
- Virginia has some of the strongest drunk driving laws in the nation, which also applies to drugged driving.
- Generally, the young driver is more involved than other driver demographic groups. According to the National Highway Traffic Administration, 21 to 34 year old impaired drivers are involved in approximately 50 percent of all alcohol/drug related fatal crashes. In 2021, there were 6,749 crashes, 247 fatalities and 4,224 involved in driving under the influence accidents.
- One is more likely to be involved in a drunk driving accident between the hours of 6pm to 5:59am.
- For the spring and summer months, fatal crashes are more likely to occur after 8pm.
- From October to March, the peak of fatal crashes is 4pm to 8pm.
- Weekends and holidays show the highest reported alcohol involved accidents.
- According to the Center for Disease Control and Prevention the most dangerous days include holidays such as; Memorial Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Years, St Patrick’s Day, Fourth of July.
- The summer months of June, July and August account for approximately 30% percent of fatal drunk driving accidents recorded.
- Most drunk driving accidents occur closest to home.
- Drunk driving accidents can happen anywhere and at any time.
Call A Virginia DUI Accident Lawyer For Help (757) 304-8424
In the unfortunate circumstance that one or a loved one becomes the victim of a DUI accident in Virginia, immediately call (757) 304-8424 Coastal Virginia Magazine’s Top Lawyer for 2016 – 2022 Attorney Ed Booth for a consultation free of charge.
Mr. Booth is a highly regarded Virginia personal attorney with an aggressive legal style and deep dedication to assist Virginia car accident victims to receive their monetary reparations legally due to them.
Types of Injuries in Drunk Driving & DUI Accidents
- Spinal cord injuries are commonly seen due to the blunt force of a collision, causing a victim’s spine to be partially or seriously damaged with loss of feeling, paralyzation, muscle weakness and chronic pain.
- Traumatic brain injuries are also often seen due to the blunt force of the accident which causes victims to experience issues in concentration, memory and emotional disruptions. Skull fracture, hemorrhage, hematomas, concussion, loss of vision, loss of taste, loss of hearing, partial or full memory loss and early onset of osteoarthritis and dementia.
- Traumatic Amputation of limbs and or digits due to blunt force trauma or resultant injuries which cause infection.
- Organ and soft tissue damage, organ loss, hemorrhage, hematoma, surgical removal of organ/s due to trauma or post accident infection.
- Facial fracture of mandible, maxilla, zygote, cheekbones and resulting root resorption of tooth and tooth loss. Victims may need titanium implants, Temporomandibular therapy, fixation of jaw and therapy for chronic pain.
- Long term chronic pain
- Cardiac arrests
- Night terrors
- Migraine headaches
Steps to Take After Being Hit by a Drunk Driver
- Try to remain calm by using slow breathing techniques.
- If the other driver is combative, remain in the vehicle.
- If seriously injured, please wait for paramedics.
- If able to, immediately call 911 for emergency and police assistance.
- If able to, document drivers make, license plate number and insurance.
- If able to, speak with any or all witnesses.
- If seriously injured please remain still so as to not increase injuries.
- If able to, take photos and videos of all angles of the accident to document the crime scene.
- Immediately receive medical care as some injuries, such as internal bleeding and damage to any or all organs, may not be initially felt or seen.
- Contact attorney Ed Booth (757) 304-8424. Accidents involving drunk drivers often result in lawsuits. Working with an experienced lawyer, like Ed Booth, helps to increase success of one’s trial and decrease stress and duress of the investigative process.
Filing a Virginia DUI Accident Claim
Virginia Code 8.01-243 A; establishes a statute of limitation of two years from the date of the auto accident to bring legal action for all injuries arising from said incident. Fatal incidents have a two year statute of limitations for a wrongful death claim with limitation period begat upon date of person’s death. A civil action relating to property damage has a five year statute of limitations under Virginia Code.
Compensation for Victims of a Virginia Drunk Driving Accident
- Any medical related bills.
- Any lost wages.
- Any permanent injuries or disfigurement.
- Loss of future earnings.
- Loss of a loved one.
- Property damage.
- Present or future pain and or suffering from the trauma of the accident.
- Any or all present or future counseling and or therapy due to an accident.
- Damage to the non-fault driver’s reputation.
- Loss of ability to socialize or anxiety related to driving.
- Severe cases might be awarded punitive damages.
- Punitive damages are meant to punish the wrongdoer not compensate the victim.
- To receive punitive and or exemplary damages the claimant must show the defendant is liable and responsible for economic and emotional damages. The defendant was reckless and or willful in their own misconduct and gross negligence was shown to disobey the laws of the Commonwealth of Virginia, so as to cause egregious damage to the claimant.
Having a professional like Attorney Ed Booth by your side can help to ease the stress and duress one may experience after a drunk driving accident. The Booth Law Firm provides due diligence, care and great consideration for all of their clients. Call now for a free consultation (757) 304-8424.
Reporting Requirements for Virginia Auto Accidents
- Under the code of Commonwealth of Virginia section 46.2894, a driver must report their role in certain automotive accidents.
- Specifically, drivers must report any vehicle accident that results in physical injury to a person/s, death of a person/s, any and all property damage.
- Any driver involved in a motor vehicle accident must stop their vehicle immediately, obeying applicable Virginia traffic laws.
- The driver must submit a report with full legal name, permanent address, driver’s license number and vehicle registration number.
Ed Booth: Virginia Car Accident Lawyer
If you or a loved one has been injured in an accident or by the neglect of someone else, Ed Booth will handle all aspects of your injury claim so that you can focus on your recovery. From the insurance company to the claims adjuster to filing the suit, attorney Booth will alleviate the stress and burden that comes with the personal injury case. Having an experienced personal injury lawyer on your side will also ensure that you get the maximum compensation for your injury. Call (757) 304-8424 today.
With decades of experience handling personal injury cases in Virginia, Ed Booth knows how the insurance companies work and the tactics they use to take advantage of injured victims to minimize compensation for the accident. Get maximum compensation for your injury and contact Ed Booth today for a free consultation to discuss your personal injury case.
How A Virginia DUI Accident Lawyer Can Help You
- Witness testimony from people who saw what happened
- Expert witnesses who can testify that the defendant breached their duty of care
- Pictures from the scene of the accident
- Wreckage from the accident
- Security camera footage that captured what happened
Let Ed Booth Help With Your DUI Accident Case
Attorney Ed Booth will give you a free consultation to provide you with an honest evaluation about your case. Working on a contingency fee, all expenses come out of the settlement – you don’t pay, unless you win. As a recognized car accident law firm in Virginia with multiple honors and recognitions within the state, Ed Booth will help to guide you through the process and will work to get the maximum compensation you deserve for your car accident in the state of Virginia.
Experienced car accident attorney Ed Booth has served injured victims, obtaining settlements ranging from $440,000 to $3.5 million in vehicle based injury claims.